Read This If You’re Struggling Today

crazysobergirl-wordpress-com

Everybody has those days, or even weeks, when no matter what they do, they struggle.

Maybe you’re struggling with depression, anxiety, thoughts of using, thoughts of self harm or even suicidal thoughts. Heck, maybe you’re struggling with them all, I don’t know. But what I do know is that you’re looking for a glimpse of light in the darkness.

What you don’t want to hear right now is that “It’ll get better” or “Things aren’t as bad as you’re making them out to be.” So I’m not going to tell you that.

What I am going to do is tell you that it’s okay to struggle and you are not alone.

There’s a few things that you should remember right now:

You are stronger than you think.

Don’t let your mental state fool you, you are still strong. And you’re stronger than you think, just look at how far you’ve made it already! Keep on fighting,you’ve got this!

Just because you’re struggling, doesn’t mean you’re weak.

Just because you cry, because you have a panic attack, because you backslide, because you regress, none of that means that you are weak, it means that you are humanWe all have our shortcomings and that is okay! Use it as a learning experience, take something away from it!

I backslid yesterday with my anger and self control, you can read more about that here. But it doesn’t make me a weak person. Or less of a person for that matter.

Take some “me time.”

Now, more than ever, you need to take a few moments to yourself so that you can process everything going on around you. Maybe that means taking a bubble bath or painting your nails or even doing a brief meditation session. Take some time to reflect on the last few days, try to figure out what’s putting you down or triggering you.

Go check out my post Trending Now: Self Care Box, and take some time creating a Self Care Box or using your Self Care Box. Days like today are what it’s made for!

Address the problem.

Now I am no doctor or expert in any way, but in my personal experience, I have found that if I can narrow it down to the root cause and then address the problem, I can sometimes alleviate my struggle. Not always, but sometimes.

For example, say I feel like using again, I would try to narrow it down and see what’s triggering me. Maybe it’s because it’s a Friday and that’s a day that I would usually go out drinking. Now, for a long time that was a problem for me and I didn’t know what to do because it would happen every single weekend. But the good news is that there’s something I can do about it. All I had to do was change my weekend routine. Instead of getting ready to go out clubbing, I spend my time getting ready for date night out or date night in with the boyfriend. I try not to let the thoughts of drinking linger but let them just pass through. Then I tell myself to look at how far I’ve come, look at the progress I’ve made and then ask myself do I really want to go back to who I was? No, the answer is no, I don’t.

 

Those are just a few examples of things to remember/do when you are struggling.

Tell me in the comments what you do in times of struggle? What helps you, personally. I’m curious to see what helps everyone. Sharing on this post may even help someone else out, you never know! 🙂

xoxo
Lindsey

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tony Burgess says:

    Common struggles I hope can bring people together to minister to one another and for mutual healing. Hopefully it can inspire a life-long friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great thought! Struggles can really bring people together, united we can overcome anything!

      Like

  2. Rayne says:

    This is an amazing post! Thank you so much for writing this. 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. You are so welcome!!glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

