Recovery Poem

I struggled.
Struggled to fight,
to breathe,to live.
Breathless, I beg;
beg to be myself again.
On my knees, crying,
asking for a miracle.
“Just take the disease away!”
I scream, silent screams.
Nothing avails.
So I pray.
My last hope,
when it should have been my first.

I call.
He answers.
I begin to crawl,
slowly.
He sees me,
and stands me to my feet.
I can breathe once more.
Fresh air in,
fresh air out.
Tears fall, not of sadness,
but of gratitude.

I fight;
this disease can no longer control me.
He’s by my side;
I smile.
Laughter escapes my mouth,
happiness is back.
Free at last, I run.
There’s no stopping me.
My life is in His grasp again.
Thankful, I pray.

 

recovery-poem-1recovery-poem-2recovery-poem-3

 

 

Recovery isn’t easy; sobriety is a challenge. It’s within reach, though. If you work for it, sobriety can be yours too. Today makes 90 days that I have been sober. It’s a miracle and it’s a blessing, I have my life back. I cry because I can feel emotions, I can feel happiness, I can feel pain.

Sometimes I feel weak, but never do I want to give up.

Each day starts with a prayer of guidance, patience and sobriety. Sometimes I pray midway through the day, when I need strength. Each night ends with a prayer of thankfulness.

Some days are more difficult than others but I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

xoxo
Lindsey

6 Comments Add yours

  1. +2 says:

    This is great. Blessings to you on your continued path forward! God is good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! God is so great!!!

      Like

      1. +2 says:

        Yes, He sure is! Amen!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jirah Merizz says:

    Such a great poem!! God is good, all the time! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yes He is!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jirah Merizz says:

        No worries, I enjoyed reading it! 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

