Mental Illness Stigma


“Whatever you do, don’t mention your mental illness.”

I’m so tired of hearing this.
Why can’t I tell them about my mental illness?
Why can’t I admit that I am human and that I have messed up?
Why can’t I state that I have problems, just like everyone else does?
Why do I have to hide it? It’s a huge part of me. I wouldn’t be myself if I didn’t have mental illness.

I know there’s a stigma behind it, but I am so sick and tired of having to pretend that I am okay all of the time, that everything is perfect, and that I’m not strugglingBecause I am. If we were more open about our problems and illnesses, the world would be more accepting of them. I don’t care if my employer knows about my struggles because honestly I wouldn’t be as strong as I am today if it wasn’t for the trials that I’ve been through.

I am not my illness; I repeat, I am not my illness.

I am Lindsey, a beautiful young woman with so much potential and drive who is eager to take on any challenge given.

I have failed, been kicked down, messed up and given up on myself at times, but I’m back and I’m stronger than evernothing can stand in my way anymore. I’m taking every punch life throws at me and then asking for more.

Why, you may ask?
Because I’m tired of living each day depressed and anxious. I’m tired of being written off as a failure, as being hopeless, as someone who won’t become anything in life.

I’ve got thisyou’ve got this, we have got this.

I have faith in myself and I have faith in you. Go out there and show everybody that mental illness doesn’t define you, let’s prove them all wrong. 

xoxo
Lindsey

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Preach it Lindsey!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for speaking out about this! Even this ordained minister has been diagnosed with anxiety and clinical depression.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome! And that’s incredible that you’re fighting it to pursue God’s purpose in life!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

