God, Give Me A Sign


What do you do when God doesn’t answer you?

I’ve asked, I’ve prayed, I’ve begged for a sign that everything is going to be okay. That I’m doing the right thing with my life, that I should continue fighting my addiction, but I have yet to receive that sign. I am starting to feel hopeless, on top of already feeling pathetic and worthless. I’m trying to stay strong, but it’s so difficult. I don’t want to turn away from Him, I know He has my back, but I can’t help but feel like he’s forgotten about me. That I’m lost in the crowd and He’s giving up hope on me. I know that’s not the case, but that’s how I feel.

How do you turn around that hopelessness?

It’s not easy, I can assure you of that. I’m trying to do that as we speak. Relying on God to tell me that I’m on the correct path, that I’m not a lost cause, that I’m making the correct choices. I can’t help but feel hopeless still. I’m not giving up my faith in Him because I know He is there for me. Yet I continue to question it all.

I don’t know what to do. I’ve prayed continuously for help, for guidance, for strength but it’s not working. Or at least that is what it seems like. Deep down, I know that God is working on something spectacular for me, in me, I just have to stop wallowing in self-pity and make a change in my outlook. There has to be a greater purpose for this struggle than I realize.

Any words of wisdom, guidance, encouragement would be greatly appreciated. Drop your favorite bible verse, favorite motivational quote, something, anything please.

xoxo
Lindsey

P.S.

Check out my other post, When Your Faith Falters here!

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear that you are going through a tough time. 😦 If it helps bring a small smile to your face (I’m not sure if it will or not) I once kept trying to write to a friend from this blogging world that ‘it’s going to be okay’ except I kept writing ‘tits going to be okay’. So just remember, when you’re down and low, tits going to be okay.

    Maybe you can watch some cute/funny cats or dogs videos? That tends to cheer me up. Or listening to some haul videos or stationary love (at least I love stationary, whatever floats your boat works too) something that will get your mind off your struggles even for a moment. Or you could color? Or listen to a story (like scary stories online in the form of creepypastas, there’s a whole community for them on Youtube) or maybe listen to some of your favorite songs?

    My current jam is still ‘Stitches’ by Shawn Mendes, and I LOVE Rachel Platten so much. ‘Fight Song’ and ‘Lonely Planet’ and ‘A Better Place’. Or ‘It’s gonna be all right’ by Sara Groves or ‘Life left to go’ by Safetysuit or ‘The sun is rising’ by Britt Nicole.

    You could also go browsing around for some positive quotes in the blogging world here? Maybe you can find some people who post positive things like images and quotes? I know two people who do that, https://anorchidsview.wordpress.com/ and https://blissfullifeproject.wordpress.com/

    Also, you can feel free to contact me any time you need it. ❤ I hope any of this stuff can be helpful or give you some ideas on next steps, at least for plowing through this moment, and letting your faith guide you from there afterwards. ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, so many awesome suggestions, thank you SO much!!! And that did make me smile and laugh, so I applaud you for that! lol But I will go check out their pages now and find something to occupy my mind. Thank you again, really. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay! I’m glad it made you laugh! 🙂

        Awesome, glad I could help you, hun! If you ever need to chat or need suggestions again in the future, feel free to message me. 🙂 XXXX

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much! I will certainly do that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ryo112358 says:

    Hopelessness is a powerful feeling. All I can suggest is remember what you do have.

    Maybe try reading the first two sections of Entry #31 on my blog. Counting your blessings is an important step in showing gratitude to God.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will go read them now!!! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. SeekingGod2 says:

    My favorite verse of all time. It has many layers and can be unpacked phrase by phrase.

    Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Phil 4:6-7)

    Like

  4. ToadieOdie says:

    Well you might not be Mormon, but the Book of Mormon says that “Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.” [2 Nephi 2:25]

    The point being is that free agency answers your question in a round about way. Free agency shapes your destiny. So yes, in the long run things will be okay provided you chose that path. Is it an easy path? No. There are going to be bumps in the road. There is going to be despair. But the power of choice is the greatest gift God gave us on this earth in this life. Because of this there is also going to be moments of victory and triumph. Moments of great joy. Moments of gratitude.

    We need to choose to endure the darker moments and get through them so that we will be able to choose to cherish the brighter ones.

    Don’t give up hope! *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love that! I will keep on fighting and take the difficult path, even if I struggle, I know God has my back.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. anony says:

    Sometimes God has given the sign, but we’re too blind to see it.
    I don’t remember where I heard it or read it, but there’s a saying “God answers every prayer, but He doesn’t always say ‘yes’.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ToadieOdie says:

      I also believe that sometimes it feels we go unanswered because we already have the answer when we ask but we are either unwilling to accept the answer or haven’t yet realized that we have the answer.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s very insightful. I think you’re right about that!

        Like

    2. That’s very true! Thank you for that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

