Drinking Alcohol


Why I want to drink:

  1. I’m craving it so badly, I need a buzz, something different.
  2. I’m not having the best week.
  3. Songs keep coming on that remind me of drinking.
  4. People keep posting about their wine or fruity drinks and it’s so tempting to go get some for myself.

Why I’m not going to drink:

  1. I don’t have a single justifiable reason to drink.
  2. I don’t want to reset my sobriety clock, I’ve worked so hard to make it past 3 months.
  3. I can’t let you guys down, there are people who are counting on me to stay sober.
  4. I can’t sabotage my relationship by drinking.
  5. I will be homeless if I drink.
  6. I can’t even drink energy drinks or coffee in moderation.
  7. Most important of all, I can’t let myself down. I’ve promised myself a better life, I deserve it. If I relapse not only will I regress to a bad state of mind, I will also be giving up on myself and everything I’ve worked for. I’ll most definitely become suicidal again because relapsing is a really difficult thing to accept.

I can’t give up, I won’t give up. Today is certainly a struggle, but it’s also a blessing, I’m learning to control myself and not make bad decisions based off of “wants.”

Any tips on staying sober today would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

xoxo
Lindsey

7 Comments Add yours

  1. kphoenix1 says:

    Sounds like you are doing well taking one day at a time. I’m hoping everything works out in your benefit. You have to remind yourself daily on the why you shouldn’t drink. It’s hard, I know, but take it one step at a time. Best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m trying so hard. I think i’ll make it through, just gotta take it slow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kphoenix1 says:

        You’re welcome. My father had problems with his sobriety and he took it one step at a time and went to counseling. You will make it through this.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. perkreations says:

    Take good care of yourself. You deserve to feel well and happy❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Diana says:

    Do you attend 12 step meetings? Or any kind of meeting that offers support and guidance for your sobriety.
    Journal.
    Find something you LOVE and do it!
    Sobriety is a way of life, you have to recreate your life without alcohol.
    Think about what kind of life you want to create for yourself and begin, one step at a time.
    Learn all you can about alcoholism. Educate yourself till your blue in the face. Educating yourself about your disease, weakens it’s strength over you.
    Exercise, do yoga, Karate, or something that gets the endorphins going.
    Create a scrapbook about your alcoholism and now your sobriety. Before…After.
    Get a sponsor or someone you can be accountable too! In person!
    Make that list of ‘why your not going to drink’ a 100 list. Keep going with that list. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

